Committee on Culture and Education DRAFT PROGRAMME

Together towards a European Education Area

Exchange of views with national and regional parliaments of the current Council Presidency Trio

Monday 31 May 2021, 14.00 – 18.30

Brussels, Room: Paul-Henri Spaak (3C050)

With remote participation of CULT Members and representatives of national and regional parliaments of Portugal, Germany and Slovenia

14.00 - 14.30 Welcome and introduction/keynote speeches

- Sabine Verheyen, Chair of the Committee on Culture and Education (CULT), European Parliament
- Themis Christophidou, Director-General of Directorate General Education, Youth, Sport and Culture (DG EAC), European Commission
- Tiago Brandão Rodrigues, Portuguese Minister of Education, rotating Presidency of the Council

14.30 - 16.00 Session I - Towards a common vision on the European Education Area

Speakers will present their understanding of and approaches to the EEA, recent developments and possible ways forward.

14.30 - 14.35	Dr. Ernst Dieter Rossmann, Chair of the Committee on Education, Research and Technology Assessment of the German Bundestag
14.35 - 14.40	Chairperson/representative of the Committee on Education, Science, Sport and Youth of the Slovenian National Assembly
14.40 - 14.45	Chairperson/representative of the Committee on Education, Science, Youth and Sport of the Portuguese Parliament
14.45 - 14.50	Michaela Šojdrová, rapporteur of the CULT Committee on the EEA
14.50 - 16.00	Debate / Catch the eye with MEPs and Members of National and Regional Parliaments

* * *

16.00 - 16.30 Break

16.30 - 18.00 Session II - Governance of the European Education Area - Balancing EU ambition with respect for subsidiarity

Speakers will present different perspectives on future governance models for the EEA and reflect on ways to enhance cooperation between EU, national, regional and local stakeholders.

16.30 - 16.35	Chairperson/representative of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Sport of the Slovenian National Council
16.35 - 16.40	Chairperson/representative of the Committee on Culture of the German Bundesrat
16.40 - 16.45	Chairperson/representative of the Committee on Education, Science, Youth and Sport of the Portuguese Parliament
16.45 - 16.50	Anne Karjalainen, Chair of the SEDEC Commission in the Committee of the Regions
16.50 - 16.55	Anna Stolz, State Secretary for Education and Culture of Bavaria
16.55 - 18.00	Debate / Catch the eye with MEPs and Members of National and Regional Parliaments

Last update: 3 May 2021

18.00 - 18.30 Closing remarks

- Sabine Verheyen, Chair of the Committee on Culture and Education (CULT), European Parliament
- Chairperson/representative of the Committee on Education, Science, Youth and Sport of the Portuguese Parliament
- Chairperson/representative of the Committee on Education, Science, Sport and Youth of the Slovenian National Assembly
- Dr. Ernst Dieter Rossmann, Chair of the Committee on Education, Research and Technology Assessment of the German Bundestag

Organised with the support of the Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Last update: 3 May 2021