



Brian Schroeder – Superintendent of Public Instruction Chad Auer – Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction

## MEMORANDUM NO. 2022-133

**TO:** School District Superintendents

Title I Directors Principals

**FROM:** Shelley Hamel, Chief Academic Officer

**DATE:** December 5, 2022

**SUBJECT:** 2022 National ESEA Distinguished Schools Program

## NATIONAL ESEA DISTINGUISHED SCHOOL AWARD WINNERS

The Wyoming Department of Education has announced Poder Academy Elementary School in Laramie County School District #1 and Albin Elementary School in Laramie County School District #2 as the 2022 National ESEA Distinguished School Award winners. The National Association of ESEA (Elementary and Secondary Education Act) State Program Administrators awards superior school programs for national recognition through the National ESEA Distinguished Schools Program. Schools are selected by state educational agencies and must qualify under one of the following categories:

- Exceptional student performance and academic growth for two or more consecutive years.
- Closing the achievement gap between student groups for two or more consecutive years.
- Excellence in serving special populations of students (homeless, Hispanic, free and reduced lunch, English learners, etc.).

Poder Academy Elementary demonstrated excellence in serving special populations of students enrolled in science, math, and English learning during school years 2020-21 and 2021-22. Albin Elementary displayed exceptional student performance and academic growth during school years 2020-21 and 2021-22. Both schools showed a poverty rate of at least 35% based on free and reduced lunch counts and exceeded expectations during the 2021-22 school year established by the Wyoming Accountability in Education Act.

Awarded schools will be honored in a special ceremony at the upcoming National ESEA **Conference** in Indianapolis, IN, on February 1-4, 2023.

For more information, contact Les Koch, Title I Director, at 307-777-6216 or les.koch1@wyo.gov.