



Megan Degenfelder – Superintendent of Public Instruction Dicky Shanor – Chief of Staff

MEMORANDUM NO. 2023-004

TO: School District Superintendents

Curriculum Coordinators

Principals Teachers

FROM: Wanda Maloney, Chief Policy Officer

DATE: January 9, 2023

SUBJECT: 2023 District Teachers of the Year

2023 DISTRICT TEACHERS OF THE YEAR

The Wyoming Department of Education (WDE) is proud to honor all the 2023 Wyoming District Teachers of the Year (DTOY). Teachers have a unique and important profession and play a vital role in shaping all facets of our society. The WDE joins school districts to celebrate the teachers who distinguished themselves as professionals to emulate. These standout teachers can teach anywhere, and the WDE is grateful that they choose to teach in Wyoming. Congratulations to all.

- Albany County School District #1 Amy McManamen
 - Fourth- and fifth-grade teacher at Velma Linford Elementary in Laramie.
- Big Horn County School District #1 Wendy Kuper
 - Language Arts and Journalism teacher at Burlington Schools in Burlington.
- Big Horn County School District #2 Caleb Sanders
 - -Social Studies and Health teacher at Lovell High School in Lovell.
- Big Horn County School District #3 Tim Eardley*
 - -Spanish teacher at Greybull High School in Greybull.
- Big Horn County School District #4 Magdalena Stone*
 - Middle school math teacher at Riverside Middle/High School in Basin.
- Campbell County School District #1 Vanessa Bridges
 - Physics, Physical Science, and AP Physics teacher at Campbell County High School in Gillette.

Carbon County School District #1 - Ivey Barnes

- Mathematics teacher at Rawlins Middle School in Rawlins.

Carbon County School District #2 - Myra Kopasz

- First grade teacher at Saratoga Elementary School in Saratoga.

Converse County School District #1 - Chyann Brandemuehl*

- Intensive special education teacher at Douglas Primary School in Douglas.

Converse County School District #2 - Sally Downs

- Retired sixth-grade teacher from Glenrock Elementary School in Glenrock.

Crook County School District #1 - Lila Kennah*

- Instrumental, Vocal, General Music, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, and Physics teacher at Hulett School in Hulett.

Fremont County School District #1 - Camriel Kostreva*

- English Language Arts and Reading Intervention teacher at Lander Valley High School in Lander.

Fremont County School District #2 - Melissa Harris

- Fifth-grade teacher at Dubois K-12 School in Dubois.

■ Fremont County School District #38 - Brian Decker

- Fourth-grade teacher at Arapahoe Elementary School in Arapahoe.

Goshen County School District #1 - Erin Estes*

- Mathematics teacher at Lingle - Ft. Laramie High School in Lingle.

Hot Springs County School District #1 - Britton Van Heule

- Agriculture Education and Career and Technical Education teacher at Hot Springs County High School in Thermopolis.

Johnson County School District #1 - Christine Houseman*

- Biology, Human Biology, and AP Biology teacher at Buffalo High School in Buffalo.

Laramie County School District #1 - Erin Freeman*

- Social studies teacher at South High School in Cheyenne.

Laramie County School District #2 - Mary Graves

 Biology, Chemistry, Concurrent Chemistry, Anatomy & Physiology, and Environmental Science teacher at Pine Bluffs High School in Pine Bluffs.

Natrona County School District #1 - Sandra Stille

- English Language Arts teacher at Centennial Junior High School in Casper.

Niobrara County School District #1 - Michele Thompson*

- K-12 Special Education and Occupational Therapy-Related teacher at the Wyoming Virtual Academy.

Park County School District #1 - Tracy McArthur

- English Language Arts and Social Studies teacher at Powell High School in Powell.

Park County School District #6 - Christine Galagan

- Fourth-grade teacher at Sunset Elementary School in Cody.

Platte County School District #1 - Anthony Nichols

- Third-grade teacher at West Elementary School in Wheatland.

Platte County School District #2 - Brian Faber

- Retired Math, Science, English Language Arts, and Social Studies teacher from Guernsey- Sunrise Elementary School in Guernsey.

Sheridan County School District #1 - Andrew MarCure

- Middle and High school Business, Technology, Computer Science, Yearbook, Digital Media, and Career Education teacher at Big Horn High School in Big Horn.

Sheridan County School District #2 - Julianne Craft

- High School Science teacher at John C. Schiffer Collaborative School in Sheridan.

Sheridan County School District #3 - Joslyn Camino

- First- and second-grade teacher at Arvada-Clearmont Elementary School in Clearmont.

Sublette County School District #9 - McKenzie Sullivan

- Biology, Chemistry, Anatomy, and Physiology teacher at Big Piney High School in Big Piney.

Sweetwater County School District #1 - Brittany Andrews

- Fourth-grade teacher at Pilot Butte Elementary in Rock Springs.

Sweetwater County School District #2 - Heather Phillips*

- First- and second-grade teacher at Monroe Elementary School in Green River.

Teton County School District #1 - Gabriel Lopez

- Spanish Language Arts, AP Spanish Literature, and Spanish through Art teacher at Jackson Hole High School in Jackson.

Washakie County School District #1 - Sharee Barrus

- Second-grade, fourth-grade, Title I, and Reading Recovery teacher at East Side Elementary School in Worland.

Weston County School District #1 - Zach Beam (2023 Wyoming Teacher of the Year).*

- Physical Science, Physics, Advanced Chemistry, and STEM Lab teacher at Newcastle High School in Newcastle.

Weston County School District #7 - Alyson Kruger*

-English teacher at Upton Elementary/Middle School in Upton.

For more information, contact Robin Grandpre, Project & Performance Manager and TOY Coordinator, at 307-777-5315 or robin.grandpre1@wyo.gov.

^{*}Members 2022-23 Level Up Leadership Cohort, a program that provides education leaders the opportunity to build relationships across district lines, and helps these leaders develop strategies to continue to engage with their community through advocacy training, leadership training with the Wyoming Military Department, continuous improvement with the University of Wyoming and more.