

MEMORANDUM NO. 2021-051

- TO: School District Superintendents School Principals Counselors Psychologists Curriculum Coordinators
- FROM: Kari Eakins, Chief Policy Officer

DATE: April 19, 2021

SUBJECT: Suicide Prevention Programs

SUICIDE PREVENTION PROGRAMS

The Jason Flatt Act was adopted in Wyoming during the 2014 legislative session. It requires at least eight hours of suicide prevention education for teachers and administrators every four years. The Wyoming Department of Education (WDE) will release an updated list of approved suicide prevention programs, compiled under W.S.§ 21-2-202(a) (xxxv) and W.S.§ 21-3-110(a)(xxxiii), this summer.

To help WDE prepare for the review and release of the updated approved program list, complete the **suicide prevention program survey** by **May 1, 2021**.

For more information, contact Catherine Palmer, Accreditation Consultant, at 307-777-6198 or **catherine.palmer@wyo.gov**.